Developing Economies Scholarship

For Tech Transfer Professionals from Developing Economies

These scholarships are available to support the professional development of up to five early career technology transfer professionals working in countries identified as developing economies. The support from AUTM under the scholarship is a maximum of $4,000 (U.S.), with a requirement that the recipient’s home institution guarantees and contributes at least 20 percent of the total cost of the recipient’s attendance at the nominated course or event. All eligible applicants must be new to the profession and come from not-for-profit institutions in eligible countries.

How to Apply
The deadline to submit this year's application was Wednesday, September 12.  Learn more about the scholarship application process



Luan Africa, Stellenbosch University
Mariana Mora Eusse, Univeridad EAFIT
Tafadzwa Kachara, University of the Free State
Nkululeko Zenzele Neville Ndlovu, University of the Western Cape
Evah Phago, Water Research Commission


Sherif Hegazy, Helwan University Technology Transfer Office
Roxanne Llamzon, University of the Philippines Manila


Frederick R. Bezuidenhout, North-West University
William J. Cloete, Innovus Technology Transfer (Pty) Ltd., Stellenbosch University
Dr. Jeena Joseph, Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology
Fredrick Matongo, University of Fort Hare
Naazlene Patel, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University


Revel Iyer, University of Cape Town
Songphon Munkongsujarit, National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA)
Francois Oosthuizen, University of Cape Town
Ignacio Sartori, Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Cientificas y Tecnicas (CONICET)


Marianela Cortes Munoz, University of Costa Rica
Anne Onalethata Gabathuse, Natal
Philip D. Hoekstra, University of Cape Town
Ilya Khromov, Sevastopol National Technical University
Kowisa Pimolpan, National Science and Technology Development Agency


Iclal Arguc, Sabanci University
Elias Drummond, Universidade Estadual de Campinas- UNICAMP-Campinas State University
Zulfaquar Dudhia, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
Ronan Izcovich, Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Cientificas y Tecnicas (CONICET)
JD Labuschagne, Stellenbosch University


Paulo Roberto Francischini de Carvalho, UNESP Universidade Estadual Paulista
Camila da Costa Pinto, University of the State of Amazonas
Mary-Ann Chetty, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
Tesfaye  Abebe Amdie, Hawassa University
Bongani Masombuka, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)


Aleck Ncube, National University of Science and Technology
Andres Ordoñez, Antonio Nariño University
Nuannapa Santipruksawong, Chulalongkorn University Intellectual Property Institute
Alexander Urrutia, Inis Biotech S.A.
Nondwe Zama, South African Medical Research Council


Preeda Khositpanich, Chulalongkorn University Intellectual Property Institute
David Nguru, Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI)
Doris Mary Ellen Peters, Stellenbosch University
Phumuza Edward Langa, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)


Darya BubmanJustin Machini, VACID Africa


Carlos Aguiar, Aggeu Magalhaes Research Center
Jacqueline Barnett, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
Guillermo Augusto Mendez R., CreaTech SA
Aletta Johanna Nel, Stellenbosch University
Marcelo Vasquez, Fundacion Chile


C. Kuyler DoyleRabogajane Busang, The Medical Research Council of South Africa
Nguyen Thi Thu Hoai, Institute of Agricultural Genetics
Akkharawit Kanjana-Opas, Prince of Songkla University
Saberi Marais, The Medical Research Council of South Africa
Kajohnsak Rattanajareet, Chulalongkorn University Interellectual Property Institute


Anurak  Bannasak, Chulalongkorn University Intellectual Property Institute
Fadia Homaidan, American University of Beirut
Julia Illera, Federacion Nacional de Cafeteros
Paola Gamboa, University of Costa Rica
Newton Abel Temu, Mikocheni Agricultural Research Institute
Jane Payumo, Philippine Rice Research Institute (PhilRice)


Yingjie Wu, Shanghai Institutes of Biological Sciences, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Adelani Ogunrinade, University of Technology Jamaica
Mariana Berenstein, Genesica S.A.
Julianne Nadler-Visser, University of Cape Town
Mauricio Javier Gonzalez Paredes, GeneraUC Marketing y Corretaje Tecnologico, DICTUC, Pontificia Universidad